Reflecting on the past year; planning for the next

We thank our advisory committee members who took time to convene with us in Anchorage this month. These statewide leaders share our passion for Alaska’s coastal communities, ocean and freshwater resources, applied scientific research, workforce development and marine education.

Advisory Committee 2018

From left to right: Diana Evans, Dee Williams Kris Norosz, Lea Klingert, Molly McCammon, Kaja Brix, Nicole Kimball, Karen Murphy, Vera Metcalf, Jeff Kauffman, Dave Reggiani, Fred Schlutt, Jr. Photo by Paula Dobbyn

We spent the time reviewing our work over the last year, identifying emerging issues that we should focus on, and planning for the next year. To prepare for the meeting, we compiled highlights from 2017-18 in our new annual reportcover

It was a year of much change for Alaska Sea Grant, including the retirements of some key players who served the program for many years, and the hire of our new director Heather Brandon.

We hope you will take some time to read and share the report and let us know what you think. Comments can be sent to